NHS Lambeth CCG have just announced the Lammy Awards 2016!

NHS Lambeth CCG have just announced the Lammy Awards 2016. The awards recognise NHS and council staff, health and care teams and individuals who live and work in the borough who go the extra mile to support the health and care of others.

The award categories for this year are:

  • The Innovation in Lambeth Award
  • The Award for Best Use of Patient Experience
  • The Working Together Award
  • The Outstanding Contribution to Primary Care Award
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award
  • The Kindness Award
  • Unpaid Carer of the Year
  • The Putting Patients First Award for healthcare professionals

The closing date for nominations is the 12 August 2016.

Nomination forms should be returned to: The Lammy Awards, NHS Lambeth CCG, 1 Lower Marsh, London SE1 7NT or emailed to LAMCCG.lammyawards@nhs.net. Any queries should be sent to the same email address.


Awards for working with nature for London’s communities

A total of £5,000 prize money is being offered to projects based in any London borough that use nature to enhance the lives of local citizens, young and old, as well as communities. The winners  will also receive special gardening gloves kindly donated by The Worshipful Company of Glovers of London. So if your organisation uses nature to make a difference to your local community apply now for your chance to win prize money for your project and get the recognition that your organisation deserves in this year’s City of London Growing Localities Awards! The deadline for receipt of entries is  22 April 2016. The winners will be announced at a celebratory event in summer 2016

Click here to find out more about the awards and enter 


London named Europe’s top city for volunteering


London has been crowned the best city in Europe for volunteering, beating off competition from 10 other rival cities on the eve of the United Nations’ International Volunteer Day. London scooped the title European Volunteering Capital 2016 in recognition of the innovative programmes of London 2012, when volunteering took centre stage at the Olympic and Paralympic Games. The award is run by the European Volunteer Centre, known as CEV, and promotes volunteering at a local level by giving recognition to places that support and strengthen partnerships with volunteer centres and celebrates the difference made by volunteers. The winning bid was led by Team London, the programme set up by Boris Johnson, the Mayor of London, to increase volunteering levels in the capital.
Early Morning London Eye


RSPH Health & Wellbeing Awards 2015-

Please note that this year the RSPH Health & Wellbeing Awards and the Public Health Minister’s Award have been integrated.  As such, the RSPH Award application and submission process will be also the route to Public Health Minister’s Award.  Eligible organisations winners of the RSPH’s highest accolade (3 year award) will be on the shortlist from which the Minister, Jane Ellison, will choose the winner.

If you would like to join this year’s scheme please return the  2015 Awards enrolment form – FINALas soon as possible or by the end of June.  You will then receive a submission template to complete and send back to RSPH along with a hard copy of your evidence file.

Please note the deadline for submissions is Friday 10th July.  I’m also attaching a document with a list of frequently asked questions for your information.  Furthermore, RSPH will be hosting two briefing sessions on 18th June.  These will provide an opportunity for participating organisations to ask more specific questions about the schemes process, criteria and evidence requirements.  The first session will be held in our head office in London (John Snow House-59 Mansell Street, London E1 8AN) from 10:00 am to 12:00 noon.  The second session will be held through teleconference on the same day from 2:00 pm to 3:30 pm. Please note that although it is not essential for organisations to attend any of the briefing sessions, RSPH strongly advices participation  naraujo@rsph.org.uk       Tel 0207 2657 322         2015 Awards Guidance Notes – FINAL      2015 Awards FAQs – FINAL


Mental Health Heroes Awards

Nick Clegg is looking for people who are changing lives through one or more of the following:
•helping to break the stigma around mental health
•inspiring others in addressing or overcoming mental health difficulties
•making it easier for people to access mental health support and advice
•supporting people experiencing mental health difficulties to stay in or return to work
•pioneering new or innovative ways of supporting people with mental health problems and/or their families

Send in your nomination to cathy.mussert@cabinetoffice.gov.uk by Tuesday 27 January 2015.
Nomination form –> https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/mental-health-heroes-nomination-form

the Royal Society for Public Health’s annual Health and Wellbeing Awards

Enrol now in the Royal Society for Public Health’s annual Health and Wellbeing Awards.The aim of the RSPH Health and Wellbeing Awards is to recognise achievement in the development and implementation of health promotion and community wellbeing strategies and initiatives. This year we would be particularly interested in learning from workplace health initiatives and we are hoping to see more organisations coming forward with this type of case study.
Visit the RSPH website to download the enrolment form, or contact Nelly Araujo before the 30th May 2014.